The negative effects of free radicals can be efficiently fought by polyphenols, the natural antioxidants of which OLIVIE is so rich in.

Free radicals: enemies or friends?

Free radicals are atoms, molecules, or ions with unpaired electrons. Because of their feature the free radicals are extremely reactive and easily able to react with any molecule around (carbohydrates, lipids, nucleic acids) damaging it and compromising very often its functions. Moreover, by reacting with others molecules, they are able to spread and set a chain reaction that may cause huge damages to the cell. Every cell produces free radicals in normal conditions: enzymatic reactions, oxidative phosphorylation, and immunity defence. The body easily tolerates them in small quantities, and inactivates them by enzymatic systems like glutathione and other antioxidants called scavengers for their ability to neutralize the free radicals. When too many free radicals are produced a so called oxidative stress occurs. The enzymatic systems and the intracellular antioxidants cannot face the overproduction and the free radicals cause a cellular damage that can be both reversible, when the cell goes back to normal condition, or irreversible with a consequent cell death by apoptosis or necrosis.

The negative effects of free radicals

Free radicals are one of the main cell damage mechanisms. They mainly attach to three components of the cell: lipids, proteins and nucleic acids.
• The lipid peroxidation, in particular of the plasma membrane of the intracellular organelles is a cellular damage caused by the different types of free radicals that, in presence of oxygen, react with the membrane lipid double links generating some lipid peroxides.

These latter react and spread out causing a damage that reaches the membrane. The degradation of the lipids caused by the free radicals is shown by the presence of Advanced Lipoxylation End-products (ALEs, Advanced Lipoxylation End-products) such as 4-hydroxy-nonenale (4) HNE) and the malonyl-dialdeide (MDA).
• Protein oxidation occurs when free radicals (that oxidize the side groups of amino acids) damage the protein function. They also promote the creation of crossed links like the disulphide bond altering its structure or its bending and may cause modified amino acids.
• The damage to the DNA occurs when free radicals alter the chemical structure of the nitrogenous bases by causing mutations or by creating new ones. This kind of damage is one of the causes of the cell ageing and it is a cancer promoter. The oxidative stress is nowadays associated to hundred more human pathologies (like fibroplasia retrolenticolare, atherosclerosis, hypertension, Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, diabetes insipidus, colitis, rheumatoid arthritis, favism, etc.) and one of the cause of ageing can be efficaciously kept under control by antioxidant substances.

Antioxidants or Oxidants? In medio stat virtus

Antioxidants are physical agents or molecules that slow or prevent the oxidation of other molecules. Oxidation is a chemical reaction that can produce free radicals which are the trigger of the chain reaction that damage the cells. Antioxidants fight and stop this chain reaction by intervening on the intermediate radicals and inhibiting other oxidation reaction by oxidizing themselves.

As a result, the antioxidants are chemically named reducing agents – like thiols or polyphenols since the involved chemical reactions are of oxide-reduction. Plants and animals keep complicated systems of antioxidants. Like glutathione, C and E vitamins, enzymes like catalase, superoxide dismutase and various peroxidases. A too low level of antioxidants or inhibition of the antioxidant enzymes is a cause of oxidative stress and can damage and even kill the cells. Oxidative stress represents an imbalance between the systemic manifestation of reactive oxygen species and a biological system's ability to readily detoxify the reactive intermediates or to repair the resulting damage. The balance between oxidants and antioxidants is of the utmost importance to keep the natural wellness of our body.

Polyphenols against the oxidative stress

Polyphenols are a family of about 5,000 organic molecules largely present in the plant kingdom. As their name reads, polyphenols are characterised by the presence of different phenol groups associated in more or less complicated structures that often have a high molecular weight. Polyphenols are natural antioxidants present in plants (polyphenolic trace elements of the bioflavonoid type like Procyanidin, Proanthocyanidins, Leucoanthocyanidins, pycnogenols, tannins etc.). They are useful to prevent the lipoproteins oxidation and to seize free radicals. Positive biomedical effects are also proved against cardiovascular diseases, senescence diseases, and against cancer growth.

Les effets négatifs des radicaux libres peuvent être efficacement combattus par les polyphénols, les antioxydants naturels dont OLIVIE est fortement pourvue.

Radicaux libres: ennemis ou amis?

Les radicaux libres sont des atomes, molécules, ou ions avec des électrons non appariés. À cause de cette caractéristique, les radicaux libres sont extrêmement réactifs et peuvent facilement réagir avec n'importe quelle molécule autour d'eux (carbohydrates, lipides, acides nucléiques) compromettant ainsi leurs fonctions. De plus, en réagissant avec d'autres molécules ils sont capables de provoquer un effet boule de neige pouvant endommager la cellule. Chaque cellule peut produire des radicaux libres, des réactions enzymatiques, une phosphorylation oxydative et une auto-défense. Le corps peut les tolérer en petites quantités et peut les désactiver à travers les systèmes enzymatiques comme le glutathion et autres antioxydants appelés « éboueurs » pour leur capacité de neutralisation des radicaux libres. Lors d'une exposition élevée aux radicaux libres, le stress oxydatif peut se produire. Les systèmes enzymatiques et les antioxydants intracellulaires ne suffisent plus pour faire face à la surproduction. C'est ainsi que les radicaux libres peuvent provoquer une destruction cellulaire qui peut être réversible, lorsque la cellule retourne à des conditions normales, ou irréversible avec une mort de la cellule en conséquence à l'apoptose ou la nécrose.

Les effets négatifs des radicaux libres

Les radicaux libres sont un des mécanismes principaux de destruction des cellules. Ils s'attachent aux trois composantes de la cellule: les lipides, les protéines et les acides nucléiques.
• La peroxydation lipide, en particulier de la membrane de plasma d'organelles intracellulaires, est un dommage cellulaire provoqué par les différents types de radicaux libres qui, en présence d'oxygène, réagissent avec la membrane lipide des liens doubles produisant des lipides peroxydes.

Ces derniers réagissent et s'étendent provoquant un dommage pouvant atteindre la membrane. La dégradation des lipides provoquée par les radicaux libres est montrée par la présence de Produits Finis Lipoxylation Avancés (les ALES, Advanced Lipoxylation End-products) comme 4-idrossi-nonenale (4) HNE) et le malonyl-dialdeide (MDA).
• L'oxydation de la protéine se produit lorsque des radicaux libres oxydent les groupes latéraux d'acides aminés. Ils endommagent la fonction protéinale, et favorise la création des liens croisés (comme la liaison désulfite) en changeant sa structure ou son mélange. Ils peuvent causer des acides aminés modifiés.
• L'endommagement de l'ADN se produit lorsque les radicaux libres changent la structure chimique des bases azotées en causant ou en créant des mutations nouvelles. Ce genre de dommage est l'une des causes du vieillissement cellulaire et il est un des principaux instigateurs du cancer. Le stress oxydatif est de nos jours associé à cent pathologies humaines (comme l'athérosclérose, l'hypertension, la maladie de Parkinson, la maladie d'Alzheimer, le diabète, le rhumatisme articulaire, etc.). Il est une des causes du vieillissement pouvant être efficacement contrôlé par les substances antioxydantes.

Antioxydants ou oxydants? In medio stat virtus

Les antioxydants sont des agents ou des molécules physiques qui ralentissent ou empêchent l'oxydation d'autres molécules. L'oxydation est une réaction chimique qui peut produire des radicaux libres, qui sont le déclencheur de la réaction en chaîne endommageant les cellules. Les antioxydants combattent et arrêtent cette réaction en chaîne en intervenant sur les radicaux intermédiaires et en empêchant l'autre réaction d'oxydation de se produire.

En conséquence, les antioxydants sont chimiquement appelés agents réducteurs – comme des thiols ou des polyphénols puisque les réactions chimiques impliquées se traduisent par une oxydo-réduction. Les végétaux et les animaux recèlent des systèmes compliqués d'antioxydants. Comme le glutathion, les vitamines C et E, les enzymes aiment la catalase, le superoxyde dismutasa et divers peroxydases. Un très bas niveau d'antioxydants ou l'inhibition d'enzymes antioxydantes est une cause de stress oxydatif. Il peut endommager et même tuer les cellules. Le stress oxydatif est un état pathologique provoqué par la cassure de l'équilibre physiologique dans un organisme vivant, entre la production et l'élimination, au moyen de systèmes de défense antioxydants. L'équilibre entre les oxydants et les antioxydants est primordial pour garder le bien-être naturel de notre corps.

Polyphénols contre le stress oxydatif

Les polyphénols sont une famille d'environ 5.000 molécules organiques en grande partie présents dans le royaume des plantes. Comme leur nom l'indique, les polyphénols sont caractérisés par la présence de différents groupes de phénols associés dans des structures plus ou moins compliquées ayant souvent un haut poids moléculaire. Les polyphénols sont des antioxydants naturels présents dans les plantes (oligoéléments polyphénoliques du type de bioflavonoïde comme Procyanidin, Proanthocyanidins, Leucoanthocyanidins, pycnogenols, tannins etc.). Ils sont utiles pour empêcher l'oxydation des lipoprotéines et pour saisir les radicaux libres. Des effets biomédicaux positifs sont également prouvés contre les maladies cardio-vasculaires, les maladies de dégénérescence, et contre la croissance du cancer.